Islington

Return to Islington U3A

Islington U3A Calendar

Show: All Group

Tue 24 Jul 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     Long Walks -

Details To sign up go to: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/10xxgOIyyuZcb2hmgmW1GH57KlaUJjNkKXqPlzRQmHj4/viewform?edit_requested=true#responses For details of the walk go to: to be published yet

Tue 24 Jul 2018 2.00 pm     Chess for beginners     

Details 

Tue 24 Jul 2018 2.00 pm     Playreading     Play-reading: The Government Inspector by Nicolai Gogol

Details 

Tue 24 Jul 2018 6.30 pm     Concert visits     Harpsichord recital at the Handel House Museum

Details I just love the idea that twin harpsichordists will be playing this lovely programme of Handel and Johann Christian Bach in Handel’s former home in Brook Street. Well worth a visit in itself if you’ve never been: https://www.classicalevents.co.uk/concerts/handel-and-hendrix-houses-london/24-july-2018/18-30/two-by-two Seats are unallocated and only cost £12 unless you feel like making a donation.

Wed 25 Jul 2018 10.30 am     Open meeting     To be advised

Details 

Thu 26 Jul 2018 2.30 pm     Theatre visits     'Tartuffe' at Theatre ~ Royal Haymarket

Details 

Fri 27 Jul 2018 9.30 am     Birdwatching     Birdwatching Visit - Barnes

Details To sign up for this visit go to: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1hAoSTj_ATvc_lEzoWRemcIFnEWK-bH9-eGplUBSDnUI/viewform?edit_requested=true

Wed 1 Aug 2018 12.00 am     Concert visits     NO CONCERT VISIT IN AUGUST 2018

Details 

Thu 2 Aug 2018 2.30 pm     Art: Life Drawing     

Details 

Fri 3 Aug 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     Long Walks

Details 

Tue 7 Aug 2018 10.30 am     Walks - Leisurely     Leisurely walks - Bethnal Green to Hoxton

Details Held once a month these walks will be at a leisurely pace and a max of 3 miles. For full details of this walk go to: http://www.islingtonu3a.org/images/Groups/Walks-Leisurely/Bethnal%20Green%20Hoxton.jpg

Tue 7 Aug 2018 2.00 pm     Chess for beginners     

Details 

Wed 8 Aug 2018 10.30 am     Exploring London     Strawberry Hill House, Twickenham

Details Special tour of Walpole’s ‘Gothick’ Strawberry Hill House, Twickenham. I have booked us in for a guided tour of Strawberry Hill House at 10.30am, before the house opens to the public. We’ll start off with refreshments at 10.30am, then divide into smaller groups for our tour – the visit is limited to 30 places initially. This visit will cost £13.50 per person (and there are no further discounts).

Thu 9 Aug 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Mon 13 Aug 2018 9.30 am     Birdwatching     Birdwatching Visit

Details 

Tue 14 Aug 2018 12.30 pm     Open meeting     Pub Lunch -The Albion

Details 

Wed 15 Aug 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Thu 16 Aug 2018 10.30 am     Architecture     Bauhaus/Moderism-Royal Institute of British Architects.

Details TBA

Thu 16 Aug 2018 2.30 pm     Theatre visits     'Me and My Girl' at Chichester Festival Theatre

Details 

Tue 21 Aug 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Fri 24 Aug 2018 9.30 am     Birdwatching     Birdwatching Visit

Details 

Fri 31 Aug 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Thu 6 Sep 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Thu 6 Sep 2018 10.30 am     Exploring London     Museum of London Docklands

Details ‘Roman Dead: piecing together burials and beliefs in Roman London’

Mon 10 Sep 2018 9.30 am     Birdwatching     Birdwatching Visit

Details 

Mon 10 Sep 2018 10.00 am     Book Group - German     "F" by Daniel Kehlmann

Details 

Tue 11 Sep 2018 2.30 pm     Book Group- French 1     "Les Liaisons Dangereuses" by Choderlos de Laclos

Details 

Wed 12 Sep 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Tue 18 Sep 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Wed 19 Sep 2018 10.30 am     Discovering Islington On Foot     Highbury

Details 

Wed 19 Sep 2018 12.30 pm     Open meeting     Pub Lunch

Details 

Wed 19 Sep 2018 2.00 pm     History: Local     

Details 

Wed 19 Sep 2018 7.30 pm     Concert visits     Organ recital at the Royal Festival Hall

Details It’s quite some while since we’ve been to an organ recital, the last one being to Christ Church, Spitalfields. This time we’ll be hearing the highly-acclaimed Stephen Cleobury on the mighty organ of the Royal Festival Hall in a programme of Vierne (in which he’ll be joined by baritone Ashley Riches), Rheinberger and Howells: https://www.southbankcentre.co.uk/whats-on/123804-stephen-cleobury-howells-vierne-2018 For my money, the best place to appreciate fully the magnificence of the organ is Row T in the front stalls (I’m in Row T, seat 18). There’s also a free pre-concert talk at 6.15pm. All for £15!

Tue 25 Sep 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Tue 25 Sep 2018 10.30 am     Walks - Leisurely     Leisurely walks

Details Held once a month these walks will be at a leisurely pace and a max of 3 miles.

Wed 26 Sep 2018 2.30 pm     Theatre visits     'Allelujah' at Bridge Theatre

Details 

Thu 27 Sep 2018 10.30 am     Open meeting     To be advised

Details 

Fri 28 Sep 2018 9.30 am     Birdwatching     Birdwatching Visit

Details 

Fri 28 Sep 2018 10.00 am     Exploring London     Kenwood

Details 

Fri 28 Sep 2018 10.30 am     Architecture     Open House-TBA.

Details TBA

Fri 5 Oct 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Mon 8 Oct 2018 9.30 am     Birdwatching     Birdwatching Visit

Details 

Thu 11 Oct 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Thu 11 Oct 2018 12.00 pm     Architecture     Middle Temple Hall-Tudor

Details TBA

Thu 11 Oct 2018 2.15 pm     Exploring London     Brothers Tour of the Charterhouse

Details 

Wed 17 Oct 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Tue 23 Oct 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Wed 24 Oct 2018 7.30 pm     Concert visits     Songs of the Auvergne at the Royal Festival Hall

Details I don’t usually repeat venues but I hope you’ll share my enthusiasm for these French Fancies (their term, not mine). Once extremely popular, Canteloube’s Songs of the Auvergne have rather fallen out of fashion but are part of a programme which also includes Berlioz and Bizet and, rather more tenuously, An American in Paris by George Gershwin: https://www.southbankcentre.co.uk/whats-on/105274-french-fancies-2018 The seats in the front row of the Choir section are amazingly cheap at £10 (mine’s D38) and if you book for both RFH concerts together you only have to pay one booking fee. It’s extremely unlikely you’ll never have been to the RFH, but here are directions, just in case: https://www.southbankcentre.co.uk/visit/getting-here.

Thu 25 Oct 2018 10.30 am     Open meeting     To be advised

Details 

Thu 25 Oct 2018 10.30 am     Walks - Leisurely     Leidurely Walks

Details Held once a month these walks will be at a leisurely pace and a max of 3 miles.

Thu 25 Oct 2018 12.30 pm     Open meeting     Pub Lunch

Details 

Thu 25 Oct 2018 2.30 pm     Theatre visits     'The Jungle' at the Playhouse Theatre

Details 

Fri 26 Oct 2018 9.30 am     Birdwatching     Birdwatching Visit

Details 

Fri 2 Nov 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Mon 5 Nov 2018 9.30 am     Birdwatching     Birdwatching Visit

Details 

Tue 6 Nov 2018 12.30 pm     Open meeting     Pub Lunch

Details 

Thu 8 Nov 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Wed 14 Nov 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Mon 19 Nov 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Thu 22 Nov 2018 10.30 am     Open meeting     To be advised

Details 

Fri 23 Nov 2018 9.30 am     Birdwatching     Birdwatching Visit

Details 

Sun 25 Nov 2018 10.30 am     Walks - Leisurely     Leidurely Walks

Details Held once a month these walks will be at a leisurely pace and a max of 3 miles.

Mon 26 Nov 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Wed 5 Dec 2018 9.30 am     Walks - Longer     

Details 

Mon 10 Dec 2018 9.30 am     Birdwatching     Birdwatching Visit

Details 

Wed 12 Dec 2018 12.30 pm     Open meeting     Pub Lunch

Details 

Tue 25 Dec 2018 10.30 am     Walks - Leisurely     Leidurely Walks

Details Held once a month these walks will be at a leisurely pace and a max of 3 miles.

Thu 24 Jan 2019 2.30 pm     Theatre visits     'The Double Dealer' at the Orange Tree Theatre in Richmond

Details